Off The Wagon


Son has badly fallen off the wagon.  He hasn’t been sober for two days.  It’s like he’s giving up on his life.  I keep encouraging him to do the things he talks about instead of talking about doing things.  But: he doesn’t have the money, he doesn’t have any friends, he’s uncomfortable in new situations and so has become very skilled in avoiding connections all together.  Plus he is the most annoying person when he is out of his head; he’s perfectly fine, but he’s stumbling around in the dark.  I’m so angry with myself for letting this go on, but afraid to do what I probably should.

16 thoughts on “Off The Wagon

  1. it kind of comes down to do you love him enough to do what he needs? he may be angry with you but are you his mother or his enabling friend? i don’t want to sound harsh i just hate that as time goes on things are not going to change unless you do something different.

    i know how tough this is but i believe you can do this!

    • Being an enabler is easier for a while. A way to not face the awful hurtful proof. Confronting him is always such a scene, which ends with slammed doors and angry shouts. I want to find a place to take him without his knowing where we’re going and drop him off.

    • I know. I don’t take any offense. He’s making our life hell. He hasn’t been sober for three days, and all he talks about is how lonely and boring he is, then he starts wishing he was higher. He says that being high makes him happy, why should it bother anyone? I really hate my life right now, but I know I’m the only one that can change it.

      Thank you for your support!

      xoxo
      Linda

Leave a Reply

